Leer en español

Angélica Serrano-Román is an intern at the New York Daily News and will join CNBC’s investigative unit as a fellow in the summer of 2021. She is pursuing a M.A. in Business and Economic Reporting at New York University after completing a B.A. in Journalism from Universidad del Sagrado Corazón.

Serrano-Román has been working for Puerto Rico’s Center for Investigative Journalism since 2019, covering government and business news while also fact-checking public officials’ claims. During the summer of 2019, Serrano-Román interned at the island’s largest newspaper, El Nuevo Día, where she covered community, business, and science stories. Her work has been published in local and U.S. mainland media, including Metro, Caribbean Business, and the Orlando Sentinel. She has been awarded a scholarship by Facebook, ProPublica, the National Association of Hispanic Journalists, the New York Financial Writers Association, New York University, and Journalist María Elena Salinas.


  • New York Financial Writers Association Scholarship (2021)
  • María Elena Salinas’ Scholarship (2020)
  • ProPublica’s Diversity Scholarship (2020)
  • First Puerto Rican recipient of the Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship, granted by the NAHJ (2019)
  • Rubén Salazar Scholarship to attend Excellence in Journalism (2019)
  • Luis Alberto Ferré Rangel Scholarship to attend the New York Times Education: Student Newspaper Editors’ Workshop (2019)
  • NAHJ scholarship to participate at the NAHJ International Training Conference and Career Fair (2018)
  • Selected by the Universidad del Sagrado Corazón as part of the first group of students in Puerto Rico that practiced immersion journalism from the communities, covering Caño Martín Peña. (2018)


Serrano-Román served as the Student Representative at the National Association of Hispanic Journalists’ Board of Directors from 2019 to 2020. She founded the NAHJ student chapter at Sagrado Corazón in 2018, which was recognized as the University’s Ambassador Association in 2019 and became the first winner of the NAHJ Student Chapter Cup in 2020. During her junior year, she received the Pórtico Medal for Leadership.


  • Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE)
  • Puerto Rico’s Journalists Association (Asppro, in Spanish)
  • Overseas Press Club (OPC)
  • National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ)
  • New York Financial Writers Association (NYFWA)